Christmas Musings

Merry Christmas, everyone! Even though the official day was earlier this week, it’s still on my mind. We were so blessed with multiple celebrations of the season, including time with each of our families. This year, we also got an entire day to ourselves with the kids. It was fun to explore what traditions might actually work in practice. 😉

Some pictures of this year’s holiday cheer:

photo 3

Some holly and pine cones at the kitchen sink window

photo 2

Our first Advent Calendar

photo 1The glorious tree (real, again, but smaller this year)

This was the boy’s first year to sing along to some Christmas carols. His favorites included: Jingle Bells, Rocking Around the Christmas Tree, Frosty the Snowman, and Little Drummer Boy. I must say, I think he’s helped to strip away some of my cynicism. I’ve never really cared for songs like Little Drummer Boy but there were times this Christmas where the lyrics would make me tear up.

I can’t seem to shake the line,

I am a poor boy, too. I have no gift to bring that’s fit to give a king (Pa-rum-pa-pa-pum’s excluded from the text 🙂 )

It’s just been such a beautiful picture to me of how Jesus emptied himself of his glory and became one of us. He made himself so relatable, even to the very lowest and most humble of people. The fact that a little poor boy could feel he shared circumstances with the King of everything breaks my heart in a wonderful way. I’m so grateful for the lowliness with which he came so that we could know him.

And as I was reading in 2 Corinthians 8, I was reminded that his becoming poor was not just so that we could relate to him (and him to us) but so that we could become co-heirs with him. Christ is made our brother by his great suffering. What a mystery! It’s not right. It’s certainly not fair. And I am reduced to tears to consider it.

Hallelujah! Happy Christmas, guys.

“Do not be afraid. I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all people. Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is Christ the Lord.” Luke 2:10-11

Leave a comment

Filed under faith, holidays

Leave a Reply

