Birthday (A Cheesecake Review)

My birthday was over a week ago. I turned 28 on the 28th of January (something I looked forward to all of my childhood) while I happened to be 28 weeks pregnant. I think it’s safe to say that will never happen again!

It was a really wonderful weekend full of planned celebration: an upscale dinner out, an evening in with dear friends, and a low-key family gathering. He even got me a retro desk fan for our room!

DSCN0329

 

He knows me so well…it’s beautiful and exactly what I wanted! And this thing is legit! The fan blades are metal and, as you can see, there is little to no protection from the encasement. Definitely not a fan that can go in the kids’ room. (It turns out it also might be dangerous when I’m sleep walking. This was not considered when purchased.)

DSCN0330

 

I’m totally thrilled!

Anyway, I actually wanted to dedicate a post to the unbelievable cheesecake that he made.

love cheesecake.

Because of this, I requested a traditional NY style cheesecake for my birthday a few years ago. Jonathan is a great cook, but more of a cook than a baker (not that he’s bad at baking). It was his first attempt at cheesecake, and while I thought it was just fine and totally edible, he was so disappointed with himself.

That’s why, when I requested a cheesecake again this year, he was hesitant. I knew it would be a great chance to redeem himself, though. I knew he had it in him.

This is what I chose:

880adf8f351fbcc12d82be91368e0a64

 

A Lemon White Chocolate Cheesecake. Oh my, my, my, my, my, my. Let me tell you, it was good.

Let me also put a disclaimer out there that while it may not be the quickest or easiest thing to make, it is worth it! This recipe has a five star rating.

The recipe is from Taste of Home, found here.

We did a little research beforehand and learned two things about making the perfect cheesecake:

1) Make sure the cream cheese and eggs are really room temperature before you combine them. (We set ours out the night before.) Apparently, it really is crucial for creaminess and preventing cracks. This may freak some of you out, but let me assure you that the cake cooks for quite a while. No one got sick…that’s all I’m saying. And creamy, it was.

2) Placing the spring form pan in a bath of water ensures even heat distribution and also prevents cracks. We wrapped the bottom and sides of the pan in double foil before placing in our broiler pan and filling it with about an inch of water (the only thing we had large enough for the pan to fit). It turns out, our recipe called for that, but we were planning to do the water bath regardless because of what we’d read.

Here’s how ours turned out (garnished with lemon rind, white chocolate chips, and blackberries):

DSCN0331

You all know by now that I’m not known for my photography skills, but it looked as perfect as a magazine in real life.

More importantly, it was soo good; everybody who tasted it loved it.

And as far as Jonathan regaining confidence in his cheesecake making abilities, I think it was mission accomplished! (Just glad I could help him out! Ha!)

1 Comment

Filed under holidays, personal thoughts, recipes

One response to “Birthday (A Cheesecake Review)

  1. Anonymous

    I will vouch that is was one yummy well made cheesecake. Hats off to the baker. He did well and it looked good to top it off! Maybe he should start making one every time he comes over. (smiles)

Leave a Reply

