A Little DIY Table

I’ve been enjoying a new little end table at our house thanks to some scrap wood and paint we already had 🙂

May I present, the easiest little table anyone could make:

 

See the bright guy on the side of the couch? Isn’t it fun? I’m not one to name inanimate objects (besides cars), but it almost seems like this guy deserves a name…almost.

I was inspired online (where else?) and thought this would be a fun, fairly easy project that wouldn’t cost us anything! Oh, and practical, too, since we needed an end table after craigslist-ing our end table and matching entertainment center a few months ago.

Supplies:

5 1×6 scraps of wood

tape measurer

nails

paint

table saw (thank goodness for Michael!)

I measured against our couch and decided I wanted the table to be 32″x 22″. My husband and his brother cut the boards to size and then made 45 degree cuts to the side boards for support. They also used a nail gun (which you wouldn’t have to) but it gave it a nice, finished look.

Voila! A table!

 

 

It was just great as it was, but I wanted to add some color to it. We have a lot of neutral colors going on in that room (and the table on the left that you can hardly see will eventually be replaced by a desk painted white). Since we were keeping this project free, I decided to use the turquoise that we painted on our front door.

Here it is with primer…

 

I love the aged wood with all its character (the wood was left outside for a while before starting this project.

…and with paint!

 

I know it’s a little bold and may not be for everyone, but we love it! I’ve really come to appreciate color in the last few years! I kept with the rustic look by not sanding the wood down before I painted it. I think that’s part of what makes it work.

 

And it hardly takes up any room!

 

It’s just enough table surface for the essentials (I know you’re wowed by the high tech remote that matches our high tech TV. What can I say?)

We’re really enjoying it, though. There have been no safety hazards with the boy, either, since it’s pretty well blocked in by the toy box.

Happy Friday, everyone! Who loves weekends?

 

2 Comments

Filed under DIY projects, home improvements

2 responses to “A Little DIY Table

  1. that is SO COOL! I love the X and the color! and I love free! great team work ya’ll!

Leave a Reply

