A Few of My Favorite Things…

Like raindrops on roses, whiskers on kittens, bright copper kettles, warm woolen mittens…

Err, I mean some of my other favorite things. (Sorry, I couldn’t help it.)

Last weekend, we had the great pleasure of helping my sister, Jena, and her husband, Brian, move into their new house. I was really excited for them, and it was so much fun to make a lot of the decorating decisions (along with my sister-in-law, Merrill and approved by Jena and Brian, of course). I’m hoping to have some pictures to post for you soon! Their place is pretty adorable.

Anyway, thinking about the things I especially loved at their place got me thinking about the things I especially love about our little place. And I thought I’d share those things with you (in no particular order). 🙂

1. The coffee table we made out of an old door.

I made a whole post about this table before and you can read it here. We had a lot of fun designing and executing this project. (Meaning, it’s fun because it’s finished!)

2. The stripes we painted in our half bathroom.

This was a harder project than it probably seems like it would be (or, maybe, than we expected). You see, our walls were 1/4″ taller on one side of the room, which made it difficult to measure out evenly spaced stripes.

Even though it was somewhat of a mathematical nightmare, it was totally worth it. We love how light and airy it feels in this little nook. And, it only cost $1 in the end. (We used a quart of white from the Habitat ReStore along with our leftover paint from our den.)

3. This pen and ink from my sister-in-law and brother-in-law.

I seriously love this original artwork that they made for me! Merrill did the artwork and Michael made the frame.

The text was at my request, but I didn’t give them anything to go on style-wise. Isn’t the little cottage adorable?

4. Our dining room curtains made from a table cloth.

I found this tablecloth at Target and loved the print.

I bought one, cut it down the middle, and refinished the edging. Then, all I had to do was clip it to the curtain rings. Easy peazy. And I love how the browns in the fabric are highlighted by my grandmother’s dulcimer and great-grandmother’s rocking chair.

5. My front loading washer and dryer.

This really is on my list of favorite things in the house. I’m not totally sure why, but it’s so much fun to have a front loading washer.

It’s just so pretty. 🙂 I wish we had more than a closet for it to hang out in, but I’m super happy with it, nonetheless.

6. The handmade elephant mobile my (other) sister-in-law made.

Totally adorable, right?

I thought for sure Rachel bought these little guys. Not only did she make them herself, but she didn’t even have access to a sewing machine. Crafty lady!

I love having something so unique for the nursery, made especially for Liam. Not to mention, it was sent all the way from Kenya, which makes it even cooler.

7. The paint color of our bedroom.

I stressed a lot over the paint for our room when we were moving. The slate-y gray/blue I had in mind didn’t seem to be what we were putting on the walls, and it worried me to no end.

I guess it was wasted energy, though, because we love the serenity it gives to this room, and we get tons of compliments on it. Really peaceful.

And I’m really happy with the way it compliments the gray striped duvet cover I made (out of a set of king-sized sheets).

I guess compiling this list helped me to recognize that I really value homemade things that make a space completely original (and it doesn’t hurt when those things are made by people I love)!

At the risk of sounding cheesy, I really can’t list all things I love about this house without including the two people that really make our house a home.

They’re better than anything I own!

4 Comments

Filed under home improvements, personal thoughts

4 responses to “A Few of My Favorite Things…

  1. awww….SO wonderful! Be thankful for little things, and enjoy what makes you happy! I could tell you how to link up to other blogs, if wordpress is the same as blogger…
    Keep up the good work! I could NEVER do painted stripes on walls…I have no patience in measuring and taping…mine would look like waves, which could still be cool since it would be in a bathroom!

  2. Brian E.

    I can’t believe I haven’t seen your house yet, but I really want to come by some time. It looks beautiful.

Leave a Reply

