Cheddar Beer Soup and Green Chicken Salad

It’s recipe time again!

First, let me say that I need a better camera for food pictures. I hesitate to even post pictures because my camera sucks. I’m just telling you like it is. Anyway, please don’t hold it against these recipes. I wouldn’t share gross recipes with you.

So, I know it’s been a hundred degrees and all, but I was thinking I’d share an excellent recipe for soup. Who’s with me? Just save it for later if you can’t stand the thought of eating soup in July. 🙂

I got this recipe from my friend, Sarah, and it’s a keeper at our house. I had tried a few beer and cheese soup recipes before, but this one is by far the creamiest.  (I said creamiest not healthiest, just to be clear.)

Cheddar and Beer Soup

4 Tbsp butter

1/2 yellow onion, finely chopped

1 stalk celery, finely chopped

2 small (not baby) carrots, finely chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 cup flour

2 cups chicken broth

2 cups whole milk

12 oz beer (any lager is fine, but nothing dark)

3 cups grated cheddar

1.5 tsp salt

0.5 tsp black pepper

1 Tbsp sugar

1 tsp hot sauce (optional)

Chop onion, celery, and carrots. Saute veggies and garlic in butter until soft and onion is translucent. Approximately 10 minutes. Add flour, stirring to make a paste. Next, add the chicken broth slowly, stirring to thin the “paste”. Cook for approximately 3-5 minutes on medium heat. Once broth is heated, add beer, cooking until there is no foam left (usually about 20 minutes). Then, pour the whole milk and heat (but do not boil). Stir in grated cheese until all is melted and soup is hot. Add spices to taste.

Feeds 4-6 people. This soup would be really yummy with some whole grain beer bread!

Okay, on to recipe #2. Think of it as an ode to summer. Sort of the opposite of recipe #1 (although, they would be tasty paired together).

This one comes from my neighbor (and friend), Lisa. It’s a delicious and refreshing take on chicken salad. The problem is, I don’t really have (any) measurements. Just have fun with it. Go crazy. Trust your cooking instincts. 🙂

Green Chicken Salad

shredded or chopped chicken (rotisserie, boiled, or grilled. maybe 2 cups)

ripe avocado, diced (1 or so)

green onion, chopped (from both ends: green onion and chives. maybe 3)

fresh cilantro, chopped (a small “bunch” or whatever)

mayonnaise (just a little. 1 or 2 Tbsp)

lime juice (not too much. 1 or 2 tsp)

salt and pepper (to taste…of course!)

I know those directions are clear as mud, but mix and enjoy!

Makes…however much you decide to make. Super yummy (and this one is healthy).

Alright, friends, let me know if you try ’em and what you think! Bon Appetit!

6 Comments

Filed under recipes

6 responses to “Cheddar Beer Soup and Green Chicken Salad

  1. Anonymous

    Yea, I have wanted the soup recipe and the other looks good too.

  2. I could actually eat soup…Ryan…not so much 🙂 It would definitely make a great fall/winter recipe at our house…will have to pin it to try it later!

  3. Sarah

    I still make the beer cheese soup all the time! It’s definitely a favorite of mine. Not healthy at all, but just take it for what it is because I tried to use skim milk and nonfat cheese – NOT the same!! I’ll have to try making the chicken salad. It sounds delicious! And I think your camera did a pretty good job making it look yummy!

Leave a Reply

