On Top of Spaghetti…

…as in, a recipe for Turkey Meatballs!

In starting this blog, I wrote that I would include some recipes, but I have yet to make good on that promise. Many of the recipes I do these days come from Pinterest. No shame. But I wanted my first one to not (this one is from my friend, Amy). This is nothing fancy. A comfort food (with a healthier twist), but it’s good.

Truth is, I’m not much of a spaghetti and meatballs kinda girl. Every recipe I’ve tried previous to this one are sorta dry. Not this one. Tender and moist (I think it’s the ketchup). Yum.

Ingredients:

1 lb ground turkey

1 small onion (I usually use less– like a 1/3 cup), chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 egg

1/2 cup breadcrumbs (or use italian breadcrumbs and forego the parsley)

1/4 cup parsley, chopped

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

3 tbsp ketchup

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

Mix ingredients with fork and shape into ping-pong sized balls.

Pour approximately 2 tbsp of olive oil in a medium/large pan over medium heat. Cook meatballs in pan until browned on all sides. Drain excess oil (if needed) and add 26 ounces spaghetti sauce.

Simmer on medium/low heat for 15-20 minutes until sauce has thickened.

Voila. Easy peazy.

Paired with whole wheat thin spaghetti, steamed broccoli, and jalepeno-cheddar toast and you have a tasty weeknight dinner.

I also like that I can make (even cook) the meatballs during Liam’s nap time and just heat with sauce at dinner time.

Bon Appetit!

3 Comments

Filed under recipes

3 responses to “On Top of Spaghetti…

  1. now you speak my language!

  2. You have passed this onto me via Amy too and we make it as well. Other friends who have been over for dinner really like it. Yum!

Leave a Reply

