DIY Cardigan

Hello, friends! I’ve been up to my eyeballs this week in all kinds of painting projects due to self-proclaimed deadlines (before Liam’s birthday party on Sunday). Don’t worry if you didn’t get an invite, it’s for family only. He doesn’t even know what birthday parties are…or birthdays, for that matter, so we’re keeping it simple. Anyway, I hope to have some fun “before and after” posts to come soon!

For now, I wanted to share a simple little project that I think most anyone could do.

It’s from Pinterest.

That’s right…my addiction. And I’m okay with it because it encourages me to DO STUFF. From cooking to cleaning, house projects to gifts, Pinterest has a multitude of ideas. (Not like they need my endorsement. I think there is a waiting list to get an account!) But the best part to me? The ideas on there are largely inexpensive and encourage you to make old things into new ones. Love it.

One of the things I pinned to my “do-it-yourself” board is turning a too-small sweater into a cardigan, found here: http://deliacreates.blogspot.com/2011/11/cardigan-conversion.html

I just so happened to have one such sweater in mind, so I thought I’d give it a whirl. Delia explains the steps in detail, so I’ll let you read her blog if you’re interested in making one, but here’s how mine turned out.

I apologize for not having a picture of the sweater before I cut into it, but, currently, all of the pictures taken before last month (when the Mac died) are unaccessable. 😦

My sweater was a v-neck, so the first thing was to carefully cut the sweater straight down the middle. Then, I washed my chosen inside fabric, so it wouldn’t pull when I wash the cardigan. Next, I cut my inside fabric (which I got for free from my mom, who won it at some sewing function) into 2 inch strips.

Now, I was ready to sew the strips to the inside of my sweater.  Again, she explains how you do that very well, so I won’t repeat.

I decided that I didn’t want my cardigan to overlap when buttoned, so I used a regular, black ponytail holder (that I already had) as my fasteners. I just cut it in half and sewed it into the strips while I was attaching them to the sweater. That was definitely the hardest part. That is, getting my little sewing machine to go over the rubber band while keeping it in the correct placement.

Then, all that was left to do was to attach the buttons. These were two that I had as extras from another cardigan I had. They may not have been my first choice, but I was going with the free theme. So, whammo! This little project cost me NADA!

You could seriously do this. And if it doesn’t turn out well…that sweater was too small anyway, right? A win/win.

P.S. I am conveniently wearing a Concerning Lions shirt under my cardigan. They are this awesome band, whose writer/guitarist/mandolin player/etc. happens to be my husband. I’m one of their biggest fans (and not just because I’m related). Check them out!

www.concerninglions.com

2 Comments

Filed under DIY projects

2 responses to “DIY Cardigan

  1. Doesn’t the cut edge of the sweater fray?

    • No, actually, because you sew “right” sides of the fabric and sweater together first and then you turn it inside out and fold the other ends of the fabric under when you sew it to the sweater. I don’t know if that makes sense. Delia’s blog has good pictures and details to describe it.

Leave a Reply

